Darcy McBride and Mike Shipe are 2020 Staff Excellence Award Winners

Staff Excellence Award

As Kent State University at Stark looks forward to the new academic year, Dean Denise A. Seachrist, Ph.D., announced the winners of the 2020 Staff Excellence Awards, while extending heartfelt gratitude to all campus staff.

“I want to thank you for supporting this institution and doing everything within your power to make every semester, this one especially, a successful one for our students,” said Seachrist. “Without all of you, our greater goal of educating the community doesn’t happen as effectively or efficiently.”

Staff and faculty have successfully transitioned day-to-day jobs from the office to home, embracing a temporary remote working environment spurred by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Seachrist said she is honored to announce this year’s Staff Excellence Award recipients: Darcy McBride, administrator of the year; and Mike Shipe, staff member of the year.

“It is clear Darcy and Mike demonstrate a strong commitment to our campus,” Seachrist said. “Both were described in their award nominations as reliable and dependable, the epitome of a team player.”

Of McBride, coordinator of Academic Services, Student Accessibility & Tutoring, one nominator said, “She works tirelessly to support students and be a true advocate. Darcy’s work ethic and dependability are above and beyond what anyone could ask for.”

Another said: “Darcy’s commitment to the campus and Kent State makes me want to be better at my job. The support and guidance she offers means so much. She has that open-door policy and makes you feel welcome and that you are important. …When meeting with students, Darcy greets them with a smile and encouragement. She believes and effectively communicates her belief that they can be successful at Kent State Stark, no matter their circumstances or struggles.” 

Of Shipe, the Conference Center’s custodian, one nominator said, “This facility is well cared for on days it is bustling. Mike makes sure the building shines. He understands his role and the importance of his role to set the stage for an outstanding event. He is the glue that keeps everything connected.”

Another said: “Mike takes a sincere approach to carrying out the duties of his job. It is obvious that he takes pride in his work. Mike has worked many hours past his normal work schedule in order to make sure these tasks are properly completed… He never complains and always displays a positive attitude. His positive attributes are enormously critical to the KSU community.”

This year’s Staff Excellence Selection Committee was led by 2019 Staff Excellence Award winner Ellen Reber and included: Katie Baer, Jim Seelye, Julie Spotts, Deirdre Warren and Jeanne Winafeld.


POSTED: Thursday, May 14, 2020 - 4:03pm
UPDATED: Thursday, May 14, 2020 - 4:03pm
Melissa Griffy Seeton