Advising Services

Academic advising at Kent State University at Stark supports the teaching and learning mission of the university by helping students understand the value of achieving their educational goals.

Advising is an on-going partnership among students, advisors and the university community. Kent State University at Stark offers extensive academic advising services with full-time professional academic advisors, as well as specially trained faculty advisors, to assist students. 


Advising Hours

July 29 - Dec. 13
Monday - Tuesday: 8 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Wednesday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

  • Advising Services will be closed Nov. 11, Nov. 28 and Nov. 29. The office will close at 5 p.m. Nov. 27. The office will close at 2 p.m. on Dec. 20.
  • Advising Services will close at 3 p.m. on the following Fridays: Sept. 6, Sept. 27 and Nov. 22.

Meet with an Academic Advisor

Freshmen and sophomores should meet with an advisor once per semester. Juniors and seniors are required to meet with an advisor once per year. 

  • New students must be admitted and have taken any required placement tests before meeting with an advisor.
  • College Credit Plus students should schedule appointments with their advisors here.
  • New freshmen (recent high school graduates) are required to attend First Step, our first year advising and registration program. Do not make an appointment with an advisor. View First Step instructions.

SCHEDULE ADVISING APPOINTMENT
Or, if you prefer, you can call the Office of Student Services at 330-244-3251 to schedule an advising appointment.


SPRING 2020 REGISTRATION STATION DAYS

During Registration Station Days, you can meet with an academic advisor without having an appointment to help you register or make schedule adjustments for Spring 2020 classes at the Stark Campus. Students must be admitted prior to participating in a Registration Station Day.

DATE TIME
Tuesday, Dec. 3 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 10 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 17 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 9 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 10 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 13 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 14 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 15 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 16 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 17 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 21 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 22 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 23 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 24 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.