Staff Excellence Award | Kent State Stark | Kent State University

Staff Excellence Award

Each year Kent State University at Stark recognizes outstanding staff members as nominated by their peers.

One award is given to an outstanding staff member, and one award is given to an outstanding administrator.

Congratulations to the 2018 recipients!

Theresa Huart 
Secretary, Counseling and Student Accessibility Services
Staff Recipient

Shaan Fowler
Assistant Director for Employer Relations & Internships
Administrator Recipient

2018 Staff Excellence Award Nomination Procedures

The Staff Excellence Award Committee is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Staff Excellence Award. Full and part-time employees are eligible to be nominated.

Deadline to submit nominations is Friday, March 23, 2018 at 5 p.m.

All Kent State Stark faculty and staff are eligible to nominate staff members who they feel meet the following criteria:

  • Gives 100% effort
  • Demonstrates a positive attitude
  • Shows a strong commitment to their job and to Kent State University
  • Continuously helps others
  • Is dependable, conscientious and caring
  • Exceeds job and workload demands
  • Works easily with people; collegial
  • Motivates others

Include examples of your experiences with the nominee and a detailed explanation on how he or she demonstrates the above criteria. Include at least two specific, concrete instances where the candidate has demonstrated excellence.

Save the Date!

Staff Excellence Award Ceremony 
Monday, April 23 at 3 p.m.
Library 2nd Floor

2018 Nominees

Vanessa Austin*
Rae Ann Franks*
Theresa Huart*  2018 recipient
Eleanor Kuder*
Jane Swain*

Venecia Alexander
Jessica Anderson*
Brielle Black
Julie Bland          
Terry Bowling
Ashley Brightbill
Laurie Camp
William Casterlow*
Shaanette Fowler*  2018 recipient
Melissa Griffy Seeton
Ronald Hoagland
Keturah Kneuss
Michael Rich*
Mary Southards
Cort Sutherland
Kristina Yerian

* denotes finalist

committee ContactS

Kristin Wray

Stephanie Tarver

2018 Staff Excellence Award Committee Members:

  • Stephanie Tarver
  • Kristin Wray
  • Mary Southards
  • Kelly Piero
  • Dana Magella
  • Debbie Schneider
  • Paula Sato
  • Stephen Neaderhiser

While staff committee members can be nominated, they are not eligible to receive an award. 

PAST staff excellence AWARD RECIPIENTS

Staff: Theresa Huart
Administrator: Shaan Fowler

Staff: Stephanie Tarver
Administrator: Kristin Wray

Staff: Bobbi Groves
Administrator: Jared Weber

Staff: Bud Middleton
Administrator: Lisa Hart

Staff: Mary Birtalan
Administrator: Katie Baer

Staff: Jeff Leadbetter
Administrator: Gail Pukys

Staff: Sylvia Smith
Administrator: Connie Kramer

Staff: Stephanie Tarver
Administrator: Kristi Yerian

Staff: Terri Blasiman
Administrator: Julie Spotts

Staff: Lori Shankel
Administrator: Jason Piatt

Staff: Sharon Schreffler
Administrator: Willie Shoemaker