Membership on most committees for the academic year are determined in early fall. Faculty indicate their committee preferences using an online form at the end of August. 

Faculty Council Cabinet, with advice from the deans, nominate individuals for committee membership, which is then submitted for approval to Faculty Council at the September and January meeting. Except for the Technology Committee, all chairs of Committees of Council are required to be members of Faculty Council. 

Membership on all committees is open to all faculty.


Term: September 2021 - August 2022

  • Committee I: Professional Activities Advisory Committee (PAAC)
    Advises the dean on matters such as faculty travel approval requests, sabbaticals, load lifts and grants. This committee is chaired by the Vice-Chair and includes five faculty members.
    Members: Deepraj Mukherjee (chair), Erin Hollenbaugh, Matthew Lehnert, Jayne Moneysmith, Jim Seelye
  • Committee II
    Serves Council for the numerous general tasks requiring short-term attention.
    Members: Claudia Gomez (chair), Alan Chu, Leslie Heaphy, Chrissy Kauth, John Lovell, Chris Post
  • Diversity, Equity, and Anti-Racism Committee
    Works with ideas organically generated by faculty, staff, and students, producing outcomes that will shape a better future for the campus within an umbrella of equity.
    Members: Leslie Heaphy (co-chair), Bathi Kasturiarachi (co-chair), Katrina Bloch, Bei Cai, Alan Chu, Robert Hamilton, Mary Rooks, Lester Sanders (administration, Rising Scholars), Sarah Schmidt (administration, Global Education Initiatives)
  • Faculty Colloquium Committee
    Plans faculty colloquia and other faculty seminar series.
    Members: Matthew Hollstein (chair), Tanya Hrubik-Vulanovic, Mavis Jennings
  • Handbook Committee
    Proposes timely revisions to the Stark Campus Faculty Handbook in response to changes in university and campus policies and procedures.
    Members: Bathi Kasturiarachi (chair), Ian Anderson, Lucas Engelhardt, Carrie Schweitzer, Brad Shepherd, Don Thacker, Relja Vulanovic
  • Social Committee
    Plans various social events, e.g., holiday and spring dinners. This committee is chaired by the Council Treasurer.
    Members: Leslie Heaphy (chair), Younghun Chae, Paula Sato
  • Technology Committee
    Evaluates and advocates for the appropriate uses of instructional technology at Kent State Stark.
    Members: Clarke Earley (chair), Sebastian Birch, Angela Guercio, Ran Li, Janet Reed



  • Academic Planning Committee
    Plans the campus theme and advises the dean on curricular and programmatic development. This committee has a representative from each faculty constituency group.
    Members: Jim Seelye (chair), Marty Daniels, Patrick Dillon, Chih-ling Liou, Jayne Moneysmith, Oliver Ruff
  • AURCO Representative
    One year appointment to represent our campus to the Association of University Regional Campuses of Ohio.
    Representative: Eric Taylor
  • Campus Activities Budget Committee
    Plans the budget for campus activities.
    Members: Jack McWhorter (chair), Michelle Bagwell, Melissa Bauer, Sebastian Birch, La Tarsha Miller (administration, Business Services)
  • Faculty Budget Committee
    Advises the Dean on campus budget issues from the faculty perspective.
    Members: La Tarsha Miller (chair; administration, Business Services), Greg Blundell, Gro Hovhannisyan, Ralph Menning, Stephen Neaderhiser, Carrie Schweitzer
  • Student Research Travel Committee
    Allocates money to students who will be presenting conference papers. Needs three faculty members.
    Members: Leslie Heaphy (chair), Brian Chopko, Julie Cremeans-Smith, Urmila Pal Chaudhuri, Scott Tobias, Haithem Zourrig
  • Student Scholarship Committee
    Selects recipients for scholarships available from Kent State Stark foundation accounts.
    Members: Andrea Dale (chair; administration, Financial Aid), Cindy Barb, Teresa Cusma, Anne Haas, Ran Li, Alicia Pieper, Deb Shelestak
  • Undergraduate Research Assistantship Committee
    Reviews applications from students and faculty, matching students with appropriate faculty research projects.
    Members: Gro Hovhannisyan (chair), Younghun Chae, Clarke Earley, Matthew Lehnert, Janet Reed, Robin Shura

Spring Semester Dean's Committees  /  Term: January 2022 - December 2022

  • Black History Committee
    Develops, organizes and implements all Black History Month (February) events.
    Members: Joel Carbonell (chair), Robert Hamilton, Chris Post, Robin Shura
  • Distinguished Teaching Award Committee
    Seeks out and selects recipients for the Kent State Stark Distinguished Teaching Award (full-time faculty) and the Award of Recognition (part-time faculty). Please note that members of this committee are not eligible for the award.
    2021-22 Members: Mason Shuman (chair), Sebastian Birch, Katrina Bloch, Matthew Hollstein, John Lovell
  • Diversity Committee
    Enhances diversity on campus.
    Members: Keith Lloyd (chair), Melissa Bauer, Joel Carbonell, Ted Guedel, Jay Sloan
  • LGBT Faculty Committee
    Promotes educational events to raise awareness of LGBT issues at Kent State Stark and to support faculty in the development of the LGBT minor on campus.
    Members: Jay Sloan (chair), Anne Haas, Ted Guedel
  • Student Complaint Committee
    Receives and reviews information from all parties involved in a student complaint. The committee then identifies possible solutions and makes recommendations to the campus dean.
    Members: Rob Kairis (chair), Daniel Castaneda, Joel Carbonell, Brad Shepherd, Mavis Jennings (alternate)
  • Women’s History Committee
    Plans, organizes and publicizes events for the celebration of Women’s History Month (March).
    Members: Melissa Bauer (chair), Ted Guedel, Alicia Pieper