Change Kaltura Video Viewing Permissions

By default, videos that are uploaded to video.kent.edu via the Kaltura Capture recording application are listed as "private," which means that only you can access them unless you a) embed them in Blackboard courses using the Kaltura Media mashup tool or b) change the video permission to "unlisted" and share the URL.  Unlisted videos may be viewed by anyone who has the video URL. 

Alternatively, videos uploaded via the Media Upload option are "unlisted" by default, but can be changed to "private" if desired.

1. Navigate to Kaltura

Open your web browser and navigate to video.kent.edu.
 

2. Log Into Kaltura

Click the Login button in the top right corner and select Login from the drop-down menu.

Login button

 

3. Enter Flashline Credentials

Type in your Flashline username and password, then click Sign In.

Sign in menu
 

4. Access My Media

Click your name in the menu bar at the top right of the page.  Then select My Media from the drop-down menu.

My Media menu

 

5. Select Video

All of your videos will be listed on this page.  Click on the video name or thumbnail to open the video page.

Select video

 

6. Access Publishing Options

Click on the Actions button below the video playback window.  Then select Publish from the drop-down menu.

Actions menu

 

7. Select Viewing Permission

Select the viewing permission you wish to enable for the video.  Then click the Save button.

Viewing permissions
 
Updated March 2020 by Katie Baer, M.Ed., Instructional Designer