Kent State President Todd Diacon Announces 2020 Faculty Excellence Award Recipients

Kent State University President Todd Diacon recently presented six Kent State faculty members with the 2020 President’s Faculty Excellence Award, which recognizes exceptional performance that leads to the achievement of national or international recognition in the faculty member’s discipline.

“It gives me great pleasure to present this award to six notable members of our faculty who have achieved great distinction in their respective areas of expertise,” Diacon said. “They highlight Kent State’s research strengths and proudly represent the university. I commend this year’s recipients for the work they are doing now and the work that is to come that inspires students, leads to new discoveries and makes a difference in people’s lives.”

Tenured and tenure-track faculty members in all disciplines and from all campuses were eligible based on recommendations to department chairs and deans. The awards program also represents an investment in the university’s vision and aspirations.

A total of 59 nominations and self-nominations were received, and six were recommended by the provost and approved by the president.

The 2020 President’s Faculty Excellence Award recipients are listed below.

Gianna Commito, School of Art
Karl Kosko, School of Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Studies
Hanbin Mao, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Joseph Ortiz, Department of Geology
Christopher Woolverton, College of Public Health
Jon Yoder, College of Architecture and Environmental Design

For details about the 2020 recipients and their outstanding contributions, as well as past recipients, visit

# # #

Media Contacts:
Eric Mansfield,, 330-672-2797
Emily Vincent,, 330-672-8595

POSTED: Wednesday, May 13, 2020 - 9:27am
UPDATED: Thursday, May 14, 2020 - 9:28am
Emily Vincent