Governor Names Ralph M. Della Ratta Jr. to Kent State Board of Trustees

Gov. John Kasich has named Ralph M. Della Ratta Jr. of Gates Mills, Ohio, to serve on the Kent State University Board of Trustees

Gov. John Kasich has named Ralph M. Della Ratta Jr. of Gates Mills, Ohio, to serve on the Kent State University Board of Trustees. Della Ratta’s appointment is from July 13, 2012, through May 16, 2021.

Della Ratta is founder and managing partner of Western Reserve Partners LLC, a Cleveland-based middle market investment bank that provides mergers and acquisitions, capital raising and other financial advisory services. He has more than 30 years of experience in investment banking and commercial banking. Prior to founding Western Reserve Partners, Della Ratta managed the Investment Banking Division of McDonald Investments Inc.

Della Ratta’s educational background includes a Bachelor of Arts from Duke University, a Master of Business Administration from Thunderbird School of Global Management and a graduate degree in banking from the Stonier Graduate School at Rutgers University. He serves on the board of directors of numerous private and public companies, including Olympic Steel Inc., MAI Wealth Advisors LLC and NDI Medical. He is a past board member of McDonald & Company Securities Inc. and Hyland Software.

In addition, Della Ratta has been actively involved in various charities and not-for-profit organizations. He currently serves on the board of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center (chairman of the investment committee) and Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital National Leadership Council (past chairman). He is a member of the 50 Club of Cleveland. He has previously served as chairman of the Ohio Venture Capital Authority, president of the City Club of Cleveland and chair of its Campaign for a New Century, board member and executive committee member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, board member and executive committee member of Business Volunteers Unlimited, board member and executive committee member of the Annual Fund of Duke University, board member and executive committee member of the Duke Alumni Association, board member of the Cleveland Center for Contemporary Art, chairman for the United Cerebral Palsy Telethon, chairman of INROADS of Northeast Ohio, president of the Achievement Centers for Children and treasurer of the capital improvements board of the city of Indianapolis.

Della Ratta replaces Patrick S. Mullin, a certified public accountant who recently retired as managing partner for the Northern Ohio practice of Deloitte. Mullin’s term as a Kent State trustee expired in May.

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Kent State. By Ohio law, the Board is responsible for selecting and appointing the president; setting the operating budget; approving personnel appointments; granting all degrees awarded by the university, including honorary degrees; establishing tuition and fee rates; approving contracts; and approving all rules, regulations, curriculum changes, new programs and degrees of the university.

Kent State’s Board of Trustees consists of 12 members, nine of whom are voting members appointed by the governor of the state of Ohio, with the advice and consent of the state senate, to nine-year terms of office.

Two student trustees, one undergraduate and one graduate, are appointed by the governor to two-year terms of office. Since 2011, the Board has appointed a national trustee, who serves a three-year term, as an additional nonvoting member.

For more information about Kent State’s Board of Trustees, visit

POSTED: Monday, July 23, 2012 12:00 AM
Updated: Saturday, December 3, 2022 01:02 AM
University Communications and Marketing