Town Hall Examines Critical Race Theory and Intersectionality

A recent town hall provided Kent State University's students, staff and faculty the opportunity to discuss Critical Race Theory and Intersectionality -- topics which have frequently debated across the country.

The November 10, 2021, virtual town hall was provided by Kent State's Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI), in collaboration with the College of Arts and Sciences, as part of the ongoing town hall series "Empowering Kent State: Valuing the Strength of Diversity." This series furthers our dedication to advancing and transforming our community’s commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion. The speakers and panelists will include students, staff and faculty from all campuses.


  • Amoaba Gooden (she/her/hers), Ph.D., vice president, DEI
  • Gumiko Monobe (she/her/hers), Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Studies
  • Sandra Morgan (she/her/hers), director of external affairs and communications, College of Arts and Sciences


  • Casey H. Boyd-Swan (she/her/hers), Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Economics
  • Charmaine Crawford (she/her/hers), Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Africana Studies 
  • Lynn Itagaki (she/her/hers), Ph.D., associate professor, English and women's and gender studies, University of Missouri

View the town hall meeting below.


POSTED: Monday, November 15, 2021 01:25 PM
Updated: Friday, December 9, 2022 04:30 PM